Celebrating a Special Person

This past weekend I was at a large family gathering outside Ottawa to celebrate the 80th birthday of my uncle Martin. I brought along my 4×5 Speed Graphic with my 1860’s brass Petzval lens to get a portrait. Martin has had a most interesting life, with both joys and sorrows, and I think this lens once again managed to “get behind the eyes.” To me, it is as if he is contemplating his life in this image.

My Uncle Martin

Shot on Ilford HP5+ film, pulled to around EI 200, developed in Tmax Dev

Leave a Reply

